ATM and TCC Issue Open Letter to Congress Expressing Gratitude to DRIVE Act Supporters

The American for Transportation Mobility (ATM) Coalition and the Transportation Construction Coalition (TCC) have jointly issued the following open letter to Congress, which expresses gratitude to the xx Senators who supported the DRIVE Act and commitment to aggressively pursue enactment of a long-term surface transportation reauthorization bill:

September 15, 2015

Open Letter to Congress:

The transportation, labor, and business organization members of the Americans for Transportation Mobility (ATM) and the Transportation Construction Coalitions (TCC) greatly appreciate the Senate’s passage of the Developing a Reliable and Innovative Vision for the Economy (DRIVE) Act, the six-year highway, public transit and safety funding authorization bill. The Senate’s action was a vote for greater economic competitiveness and growth, increased jobs, enhanced public safety and less red tape.

ATM and TCC members have previously urged you to end the current cycle of uncertainty that has led seven states to announce they are delaying or canceling projects valued at $1.63 billion and a total of 19 states to express concerns about the feasibility of future transportation projects. We commend the Senate for acting to solidify the foundation on which the nation’s economy functions.

Particular thanks to those Senators that voted to invest in transportation that will drive forward American communities now and in the future:

Sen. Lamar Alexander (R-TN)
Sen. Kelly Ayotte (R-NH)
Sen. Tammy Baldwin (D-WI)
Sen. John Barrasso (R-WY)
Sen. Michael Bennet (D-CO)
Sen. Roy Blunt (R-MO)
Sen. John Boozman (R-AR)
Sen. Barbara Boxer (D-CA)
Sen. Richard Burr (R-NC)
Sen. Maria Cantwell (D-WA)
Sen. Shelley Moore Capito (R-WV)
Sen. Ben Cardin (D-MD)
Sen. Bill Cassidy (R-LA)
Sen. Dan Coats (R-IN)
Sen. Thad Cochran (R-MS)
Sen. Susan Collins (R-ME)
Sen. Chris Coons (D-DE)
Sen. John Cornyn (R-TX)
Sen. Steve Daines (R-MT)
Sen. Dick Durbin (D-IL)
Sen. Mike Enzi (R-WY)
Sen. Joni Ernst (R-IA)
Sen. Dianne Feinstein (D-CA)
Sen. Deb Fischer (R-NE)
Sen. Al Franken (D-MN)
Sen. Cory Gardner (R-CO)
Sen. Charles Grassley (R-IA)
Sen. Orrin Hatch (R-UT)
Sen. Heidi Heitkamp (D-ND)
Sen. Dean Heller (R-NV)
Sen. Mazie Hirono (D-HI)
Sen. John Hoeven (R-ND)
Sen. James Inhofe (R-OK)
Sen. Johnny Isakson (R-GA)
Sen. Ron Johnson (R-WI)
Sen. Tim Kaine (D-VA)
Sen. Angus King (I-ME)
Sen. Mark Kirk (R-IL)
Sen. Amy Klobuchar (D-MN)
Sen. Patrick Leahy (D-VT)
Sen. Joe Manchin (D-WV)
Sen. John McCain (R-AZ)
Sen. Claire McCaskill (D-MO)
Sen. Mitch McConnell (R-KY)
Sen. Barbara Mikulski (D-MD)
Sen. Jerry Moran (R-KS)
Sen. Lisa Murkowski (R-AK)
Sen. Patty Murray (D-WA)
Sen. Bill Nelson (D-FL)
Sen. Gary Peters (D-MI)
Sen. Rob Portman (R-OH)
Sen. Pat Roberts (R-KS)
Sen. Mike Rounds (R-SD)
Sen. Bernard Sanders (I-VT)
Sen. Brian Schatz (D-HI)
Sen. Jeff Sessions (R-AL)
Sen. Jeanne Shaheen (D-NH)
Sen. Debbie Stabenow (D-MI)
Sen. Dan Sullivan (R-AK)
Sen. Jon Tester (D-MT)
Sen. John Thune (R-SD)
Sen. Thorn Tillis (R-NC)
Sen. David Vitter (R-LA)
Sen. Sheldon Whitehouse (D-RI)
Sen. Roger Wicker (R-MS)

We will continue to aggressively pursue enactment of a long-term surface transportation reauthorization bill that increases investment in the nation’s highway, bridge, and public transportation infrastructure networks by the October 29 deadline. We look forward to continuing to work with you to achieve this goal.

With Gratitude,

Americans for Transportation Mobility (ATM) Coalition and

Transportation Construction Coalition (TCC)

ATM and TCC Membership includes:

  • American Public Transportation Association
  • American Road and Transportation Builders Association (TCC Co-Chair)
  • American Coal Ash Association
  • American Concrete Pavement Association
  • American Concrete Pipe Association
  • American Council of Engineering Companies
  • American Society of Civil Engineers
  • American Iron and Steel Institute
  • American Subcontractors Association
  • American Traffic Safety Services Association
  • Asphalt Emulsion Manufacturers Association
  • Asphalt Recycling and Reclaiming Association
  • Associated Equipment Distributors
  • Associated General Contractors (AGC; TCC Co-Chair)
  • Association of Equipment Manufacturers
  • Concrete Reinforcing Steel Institute
  • International Association of Bridge, Structural, Ornamental and Reinforcing Iron Workers
  • International Slurry Surfacing Association
  • International Union of Operating Engineers
  • Laborers’ International Union of North America
  • Laborers-Employers Cooperation & Education Trust
  • National Asphalt Pavement Association
  • National Association of Surety Bond Producers
  • National Electrical Contractors Association
  • National Ready Mixed Concrete Association
  • National Steel Bridge Alliance
  • National Stone, Sand and Gravel Association
  • National Utility Contractors Association
  • Portland Cement Association
  • Precast/Prestressed Concrete Institute
  • The Road Information Program
  • United Brotherhood of Carpenters and Joiners of America
  • U.S. Chamber of Commerce (ATM Coalition Chair)
Share on

Stay informed

Press Releases

Oct 6th, 2015
Blog: A NY State of Infrastructure is Not a Good Place to Be

Oct 5th, 2015
Blog: Emoji Explains – Why Our Roads, Highways and Bridges are Crumbling

Sep 22nd, 2015
Blog: Highway Trust Fund is Fine, Until It isn’t

Sep 15th, 2015
ATM and TCC Issue Open Letter to Congress Expressing Gratitude to DRIVE Act Supporters

Sep 15th, 2015
Transportation Tuesday Makes its Debut